THF Internship Program Puts Media Careers on Course

If you’re interested in launching a career in any business function of the media industry, apply to the T. Howard Foundation Internship Program. The final deadline is December 1.

Jenisse Bouret (THF’ 15) interned at NY1 Noticias and is a senior at SUNY New Paltz.

I remember viewing the 2014 T. Howard Foundation (THF) Summer Intern Orientation video and thinking the students had exaggerated the truth when they claimed the experience was “life changing.” Months later, I found myself sharing a similar testimony and meaning every word
of it.

THF Provides Competitive Advantage Over Other Interns
In late April 2015, while completing a study abroad program in Ecuador, I was notified that I had been chosen as a THF news programming intern with Time Warner Cable’s NY1 Noticias. One month later, I was invited to interview for an internship at another Spanish-speaking news channel (to which I applied on my own). However, because I had already accepted the NY1 Noticias internship, I knew in my gut that having the connection with THF would be indispensable in my career path.

FullSizeRender-4

THF interns meet up in New York: (Counter-clockwise from left) Cristian Palma, Jenisse Bouret, Wilson Quiceno, Valeta Brown

Thankfully, I followed my intuition because the skills I gained after THF’s three-day Summer Intern Orientation were not only enriching, but also were key to my success as a news programming intern.

After orientation, I felt confident knowing that I had gained an aptitude for interacting with professionals at all career levels. I also felt self-assured after receiving advice from media industry leaders, which gave me a competitive advantage over other interns in the field. Additionally, as a result of orientation, I overcame my fear of networking and was comfortable connecting with people in different departments at NY1.

Paid Internships Help Students Build Brand
All T. Howard Foundation interns are paid for a full-time schedule (32 hours per week). The money I earned during my summer internship allowed me to purchase professional clothing—a necessary part of stepping into a sphere where one’s appearance represents one’s work quality and potential. Dressing for success enabled me to build my brand and project how serious I take myself as a budding media leader.

Jenisse Bouret interviews María Teresa Merino de Hart, Consul General of Peru

Jenisse Bouret interviews María Teresa Merino de Hart, Consul General of Peru

I was the only THF intern at NY1 Noticias, and the only intern to be paid. I also was able to use NY1’s cameras whenever I chose to during work hours. Both of these privileges were due to the fact that I was trusted because I was handpicked as a T. Howard Foundation intern.

Assigned Mentors Provide One-on-One Career Advice
As a THF intern, I was also paired with a mentor who works professionally in the media industry. My mentor was Edgar Corona (THF ‘11), Manager for Hispanic Fan Strategy Marketing at the NFL. Thanks to our professional relationship, I was able to gain more experience conversing in an informal setting and learning how to clearly express myself.

Overall, being a THF intern has expanded my understanding of the opportunities of which I can take advantage within media. The T. Howard Foundation has empowered me to overcome obstacles and defy limitations. Had it not been for THF’s role in my development as an aspiring media innovator, I would not be the informed, socially aware and motivated young woman I am today.

Jenisse Bouret is a senior journalism and Spanish double major at SUNY New Paltz. She is helping to recruit the next class of THF interns as a campus ambassador.

Leave a Reply

