Top Reasons to Apply to THF’s Internship Program

If you’re interested in launching a career in any business function of the media industry, apply to the T. Howard Foundation Internship Program. The final deadline is December 1.

Danielle Reed

Danielle Reed (THF ’15) interned with Time Warner Cable News. She is a senior at Syracuse University.

I was selected last year to be a T. Howard Foundation intern with Time Warner Cable News in Syracuse, N.Y. Each day for three months, I felt like a real reporter and newsroom assistant. During my internship in summer 2015, I executed two different jobs in the newsroom: multimedia journalist and administrative assistant.

My top 3 reasons for applying to the
T. Howard Foundation Internship Program:

  1. To break into the field and gain experience. The THF internship is what really helped me to gain my first real experience as a reporter in a news setting. Twice a week, I shadowed one of the station’s most experienced reporters on stories and learned how a news package is created from start to finish. This included pitching story ideas to watching it air live on the news at the top of the hour.Since the end of my internship, I’ve been motivated to continue to sharpen my skills and brand myself as a reporter. I am studying in Madrid this semester and have decided to continue packaging stories about current events and interesting people and places in Spain.Danielle Reed6
  1. To make connections and network with peers and hiring managers. THF connects you with other people, internships and jobs. We learned the importance of networking at the Summer Intern Orientation. Networking is vital because many full-time positions are based on who you know.The skills I developed at Time Warner Cable News and my summer project, creating my first professional reporter reel, were undoubtedly the reason I was offered an interview for a full-time reporting position one month after my internship ended. The company watched my reel on my YouTube. I couldn’t pursue the position because I don’t graduate until May, but I know that I am definitely on the right track.I also continue to network while currently studying abroad in Madrid, as the speakers at THF orientation encouraged all interns to do.
  1. The financial and emotional support. All THF interns are paid by their internship host companies. Also, the THF team offers support whenever interns need it, including encouragement, reminders and tips to stay on your toes and on top of your game.

Danielle Reed is a senior Spanish language and literature and African American studies double major at Syracuse University.

Leave a Reply

