Alumni Spotlight: Kamilah Gray: Industry Contacts Matter–Part 2

Read Part 1 of Kamilah Gray’s journey from T. Howard intern to global media marketing professional at Bloomberg.

Inspired by her THF internship experiences, Kamilah Gray returned to The University of Georgia and formed an organization to connect students to entertainment and sports organizations, including THF. 10517676_10153353427999616_880649289622566954_n

Opened Doors for Classmates Upon returning to UGA for my junior year, I created the Professional Entertainment & Sports Association (PESA) at UGA’S Terry College of Business. The purpose of PESA is to provide a network for highly motivated and passionate students who are committed to the pursuit of business careers in the television, film, music, theatre and sporting industries.

Due to PESA’s presence on campus, students have interned and landed jobs in the media industry through THF and companies that never previously visited UGA, such as Creative Artists Agency.

After graduating from UGA in 2012, another THF alumnus and UGA student, Michael Asmelash, took over as PESA’s president.

All Contacts Count
After my internships, I stayed in touch with the T. Howard Foundation team and attended THF’s annual Diversity Awards Dinner, where I was able to touch base with former interns and network with media industry professionals.

I joined Bloomberg Media in November 2012, after numerous interviews with other media companies. I actually found out about my position through Twitter; a friend tweeted the position to me, I clicked on it and sent in my application.

It just so happened that the person who interviewed me at Bloomberg had previously worked for AMC Networks and had close friends at Time Warner Cable.

Little did I know, my T. Howard connections were falling into place.

A few days later, my interviewer invited me back for a second-round interview. He told me that he called his friend who works at Time Warner Cable (my former boss’s boss) and that person spoke to him about my work at TWC, securing my references for the position.

After two interviews, I was offered the position at Bloomberg, having never provided them with references.

We don’t use titles at Bloomberg, but I do global media marketing for Bloomberg Media. I report to the Global Head of Marketing and Sales Operations and am charged with executing marketing initiatives to generate leads and increase sales across our media properties (video, live TV, news, data and photos) worldwide.

I manage the editorial content and promotional activities across all of our social media channels, execute email campaigns to drive leads, develop marketing collateral for the global sales team and coordinate our global events.

T. Howard Creates Opportunities
The T. Howard Foundation gave me my passion for the media industry; it ignited the flame that allowed me to set a lofty (and aggressive) vision for my career path. Through THF, I have met and been inspired by so many women who not only look like me, but have risen to C-suite and senior executive positions and set a course for young professional women to follow suit.

These role models have inspired me to achieve the grand visions I set for myself–and I look forward to doing so.

Leave a Reply

